MY LETTER TO PRESIDENT ELECT BUHARI AS HE TAKES OVER

Dear President-Elect,

Once again I say big Congratulations to you on winning the Presidential election, achieving a feat no one has done in Nigeria or maybe Africa at large. I would have trekked all the way to Abuja to personally shake hands with you but the roads are not so safe and my Zulu is pretty young so I have to do this in writing.

However as I write you this letter, my keyboard is almost soaked from the tears dripping down my eyes, yes I write in pain as the task ahead of you seems like the steepest hill in our generation and the point where our country needs a total re-haul. You came in when the debt incurred almost towers the Kilimanjaro, like a sheep set for the slaughter you are taking reigns and like you have constantly reminded Nigerians that you are not a magician, and you do not have magic wands to turn us around in a flash. Despite your victory, it seems a little sour cos . “We can’t afford to do this again,” I said to myself, knowing well the energy and money I had invested in the electoral defeat of the incumbent president (mainly buying data to share my personal opinions on twitter, Facebook and my Blog).

I want to specifically remind you this on the eve of your inauguration that you have promised to CHANGE Nigeria and restore all the years of decay, yes you have inherited a broken country, a divided people and most especially a weak economy and yes we know it is surely going to be tough but please take it easy and from time to time I know you would ask yourself how come you struggled so hard to inherit this trash. Yes you have won, congrats but the only thing that would keep you there is performance and trust me in 2019 it would be easier voting you out if we don’t smell fresh air. I only pity those who also won in their respective states and refuse to move a muscle after 4 years, they would go. They also chanted CHANGE and promised competent governance, we would regularly update their scorecard for them. It would be most difficult for the likes of Akinwunmi Ambode who inherited a brilliant Lagos nurtured by an amazing Governor. Babatunde Fashola lived up to his promises by investing well in infrastructure and human capital; I almost forgot alternative revenue for the state. The reliance on the center was little.

Fashola is a model Governor who should stay active in Leadership

Over the weekend I traveled to Delta to see my mum who was recently robbed while on family assignment (Omugwo) and also attend a function. I landed in Warri and drove to Abraka. For the records I graduated from Abraka in 2005 and I can tell you that after 10 years the road is still as pathetic as I left it, even worse. The pot holes are phenomenal and you choose which one to enter. A former 45 minutes drive is not 1 hour 20 minutes with hopes that your car does not loose its shock absorbers before you arrive your destination. Yet Governor Uduaghan won Best Governor of 2014…I asked the driver is there another route from Asaba to Warri or does he pass this same route? He responded, this is the only route but he built and airport in Asaba so he can conveniently land in Warri. What a shame. Delta State is so stagnant. The only visible growth are billboards of politicians.

We as citizens must be the new opposition.

Nigeria needs a vibrant democracy and we would have expected the People’s Democratic Party to become that effective opposition party, but instead, they seem to be towing the line of crude opportunists by emptying into your new governing party. To balance the scales of power, we as citizens must be the new opposition; and that explains why many of us will shed the cloak of partisan party and candidate support to assume our role as watch(wo)men of the republic. We must insist that performance is beyond building roads and commissioning exercises. Performance measurement must now include effective communication and citizen engagement, and you will not be promised Nobel prizes for doing the work you fought hard to occupy office for.

Mr. President-elect, your honeymoon is over same goes for your Vice President Elect. The choice of team members will be the first signal to show us if you’re here to work, or to reward political affiliates. I recall one of our past presidents was popular for Presidential Handshakes, I think this is the best time to legalize it especially for those who supported you with funds during your campaign. Feel free to reward them with abundance of this. Please be weary for sycophants and praise singers cos they would soon perch around the honey. Do not let them derail you.

If you are aware of the mess the opposition party is in now, you would understand that friends only stay with you when the going is good. All the top guns in PDP have either resigned, or they have fought themselves openly using mean words at each other.. only because the honey pot has dried up . I remember the loud songs they sang few months ago, all of a sudden its bitter tasting now. THIS COULD BE YOU IN 4 YEARS IF YOU FAIL US. Our voters cards are still warming up for the next battle, however we can hide them once we start seeing what we believe you promised us.

Congratulations, Mr. President-Elect. In few hours that title would change and our country would start changing. I have heard comments from you on several issues since you were elected and I must say they are comforting. It is obvious the dark skies would clear soon. Power would be like the real world and Security would be guaranteed, not forgetting Consumer’s rights restored. Education and Health would breathe a new life in your administration.

Please remember you report to the OFFICE OF THE CITIZENS of NIGERIA.

Above all I pray for good health, peace, wisdom and long life for you my President

Do not disappoint us.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Liberation, Nigeria, Science of Life, unlimited power

2 responses to “MY LETTER TO PRESIDENT ELECT BUHARI AS HE TAKES OVER

  1. Abiodun Adigun

    Nice write up…

  2. Amanda Styles

    Every word here counts, well written. I have not gone to Delta State before but I am surprised that this is still the story in Nigeria. Well i hope the president gets it all right for the counrty

Leave a Reply

